Heads of State Poland

A few facts about the Heads of State of Poland that have governed Polska since 991.

  • There have been 21 Hereditary Kings and Senior Princes dating back to 991 until 1296.
  • There have been 13 Hereditary Kings from 1300 until 1572.
  • There have been 11 Elected Kings of Poland & Lithuania from 1573 until 1795.
  • From 1795 until 1918 Poland was partitioned and ruled by a number of different countries including, Austria, Prussia (later to become Germany), Russia and as a French vassal during the Napoleonic Wars. The Polish State was abolished during these years and not re-established until 1918 as an independent republic.
  • Known as the ‘Second Republic', there have been 4 Presidents and Heads of State until 1939.
  • In 1939 the Polish Second Republic was overwhelmed and destroyed by a joint Nazi and Soviet attack. After the Second World War two governments existed, the legal government in exile in London, United Kingdom and the Soviet controlled government within Poland.
  • The Polish government in exile had 7 leaders until 1990.
  • The Polish People's Republic had 5 leaders under Soviet rule.
  • Since 1989 the third Polish Republic, once again as a free state, has had 9 leaders.


Name of Leader Dates Party
Wojciech Jaruzelski 19 July 1989 to 22 December 1990 Polish United Workers' Party
Lech Wałęsa 22 December 1990 to 22 December 1995 Solidarity
Aleksander Kwaśniewski 23 December 1995 to 23 December 2000 Social Democracy
Aleksander Kwaśniewski 23 December 2000 to 23 December 2005 Independent
Lech Kaczyński 23 December 2005 to 10 April 2010 Law and Justice
Bronisław Komorowski (Acting President) 10 April 2010 to 8 July 2010 Civic Platform
Bogdan Borusewicz (Acting President) 8 July 2010 Civic Platform
Grzegorz (Acting President) 8 July 2010 to 6 August 2010 Civic Platform
Bronisław Komorowski 6 August 2010 to 6 August 2015 Civic Platform
Andrzej Duda 6 August 2015 to Present Incumbent Law and Justice


Heads of State Poland History of Poland Poland Travel Guide

Tatra Mountains in southern Poland